FOLLOW US  Click to go to Facebook.  Click to go to Twitter.  Click to go to YouTube.   TEXT SIZE Click to make text small. Click for medium-sized text. Click to make text large.  
Lectio Divina Book Available Encountering Christ in Harmony Deacons Book Cover Book Embrace of Hope - Pope Francis

Who We Are


Subcommittee on African American Affairs


Most Reverend Shelton J. Fabre, Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux


Most Reverend Herbert A. Bevard, Bishop of St. Thomas, VI
Most Reverend Brendan Cahill, Bishop of Victoria
Most Reverend Manuel A. Cruz, Auxiliary Bishop of Newark
Most Reverend Denis J. Madden, Auxiliary Bishop of Baltimore
Most Reverend William F. Medley, Bishop of Owensboro
Most Reverend Joseph N. Perry, Auxiliary Bishop of Chicago
Most Reverend John H. Ricard, SSJ, Bishop Emeritus of Pensacola-Tallahassee
Most Reverend J. Terry Steib, SVD, Bishop of Memphis


Ms. Andrea M. Auguster
Mr. Fredron DeKarlos Blackmon, Obl. SB, Director of Black Catholics Ministry, Diocese of Austin and Past Supreme Knight and Chief Executive Officer, Knights of Peter Claver, Inc.
Sr. Gertrude Lilly Ihenacho, FHM, Congregation Minister, Franciscan Handmaids of the Most Pure Heart of Mary
Deacon Jesse Watley, Executive Director of Pastoral Services, Archdiocese of New Orleans

Staff Contacts

Donna Toliver Grimes
Assistant Director, African American Affairs

Leticia Rivera
Administrative Secretary, African American Affairs/Asian and Pacific Island Affairs

Contact Us

African American Affairs
Secretariat of Cultural Diversity in the Church
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
3211 4th Street, NE
Washington, D.C. 20017
Phone: 202-541-3178
Fax: 202-541-5417


African American Catholic Bishops

From Left to Right Standing: Archbishop Wilton D. Gregory, Archbishop of Atlanta; Bishop John H. Ricard, SSJ, Bishop Emeritus, Diocese of Pensacola - Tallahassee; Bishop Martin D. Holley, Bishop of Memphis; Bishop Joseph N. Perry, Auxiliary Bishop of Chicago; Bishop Edward K. Braxton, Bishop of Belleville; Bishop George Murry, SJ, Bishop of Youngstown. Seated: Bishop Guy A. Sansaricq, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus of Brooklyn; Bishop J. Terry Steib, SVD, Bishop Emeritus of Memphis; Bishop Shelton J. Fabre, Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux; Bishop Curtis J. Guillory, SVD, Bishop of Beaumont.

Bishop Fernand Cheri, OFM

Bishop Fernand J. Cheri, OFM
Auxiliary Bishop of New Orleans

By accepting this message, you will be leaving the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This link is provided solely for the user's convenience. By providing this link, the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops assumes no responsibility for, nor does it necessarily endorse, the website, its content, or sponsoring organizations.

cancel  continue